What Are the Seven Catholic Sacraments?

What Are the Seven Catholic Sacraments?

A sacrament is a religious rite, ceremony, or act that is regarded as an outward, visible sign of inner divine grace. In the Roman Catholic Church, there are seven sacraments that are performed throughout one’s time as a member of the Church. The sacraments are divided into three categories, which are:

  • The Sacraments of Initiation
  • The Sacraments of Healing
  • The Sacraments of Service

Each of the sacraments is listed in the tables below.

Sacraments of Initiation


This sacrament is usually performed while one is an infant, although baptisms can be carried out at any time. During this sacrament, the priest welcomes the baby to the Catholic Church and wipes away the sin it was born with. The priest anoints the child with oils, holy water, and prayer.


This sacrament, when performed for the first time, is called First Communion. Eucharist takes place during Mass and consists of consuming the body and blood of Christ, which has been transubstantiated from bread and wine


This sacrament completes the sacrament of baptism, and is performed when a person is coming-of-age. The sacrament is meant to give a person a chance to reevaluate their faith and decide if they want to continue their religious journey with the Catholic Church

Sacraments of Healing


This sacrament, also known as the Sacrament of Penance or Confession, consists of confessing one’s sins to a priest to receive absolution in return. Through Reconciliation, Catholics are absolved of the sins they have committed since their baptism. A Catholic can perform Reconciliation whenever they want, and as often as they want

Anointing the Sick

This is a sacrament of the Catholic Church that is administered to a Catholic “who, having reached the age of reason, begins to be in danger due to sickness or old age.” This sacrament is administered by a priest, who applies oil to the forehead (and sometimes other body parts) while reciting prayers

Sacraments of Service

Holy Orders

This sacrament occurs when a man becomes a bishop, priest, or deacon.


This sacrament is the “covenant by which a man and a woman establish between themselves a partnership of the whole of life and which is ordered by its nature to the good of the spouses and the procreation and education of offspring.”

Comments are closed.
%d bloggers like this: