Tag: Sacraments

What are Catholic beliefs and practices?

What are Catholic beliefs and practices?

Meaning of Beliefs and Practice

The Catholic beliefs and Practice of the Church are sacrosanct to their daily ministering in the Church which becomes the foundation for worships. They help the members of church for proper worship and development of faith in God


Concepts of faith

The idea of faith shared by all Christian churches is rooted in the New Testament. But the New Testament idea of faith is not simple; indeed, it possesses a breadth of meaning that has led to varying understandings, even within a single Christian communion.


The concept of revelation

Although other religions have ideas of revelation, none of them bears a close resemblance to the idea of revelation found in the Bible and in Christianity. Roman Catholic theologians distinguish between revelation in a broad sense, which means knowledge of God deduced from facts about the natural world and human existence, and revelation in the strict formal sense, which means the utterances of God. This latter idea can be conceived only by analogy with human utterances, and its precise definition involves difficulties.

Tradition and Scripture

In Roman Catholic theology, tradition is understood both as channel and as content. As channel, it is identical with the living teaching authority of the Catholic church. As content, it is “the deposit of faith,” the revealed truth concerning faith and morals. In Roman Catholic belief, revelation ends with the death of the Apostles; the deposit was transmitted to the college of bishops, which succeeded the Apostles

 The magisterium

The concept of teaching authority

The Roman Catholic Church claims for itself a teaching authority that is unparalleled in the Christian community. In its broadest sense, this authority belongs to all members of the church, who, according to Vatican II, share in the threefold mission of the church by virtue of baptism. Teaching authority in a narrower sense is held only by bishops and the pope by virtue of their office and by theologians by virtue of their learning. In its strictest definition, the magisterium refers to the teaching authority of bishops and the pope. The reformers of the 16th century rejected the traditional definition of the magisterium and did not claim for their own churches the authority they rejected in the Roman church.

 Major dogmas and doctrines

The Roman Catholic Church in its formula of baptism still asks that the parents and godparents of infants to be baptized recite the Apostles’ Creed as a sign that they accept the basic doctrines of the church and will help their children grow in the Catholic faith. The creed proclaims belief in the Holy Trinity; the Incarnation, Passion, and Resurrection of Christ; the Second Coming and Last Judgment of Christ; the remission of sins; the church; and eternal life. The early Church Fathers made the creed the basis of the baptismal homilies given to catechumens, or those preparing for the rite. The homilies, like modern Roman Catholic doctrine, went considerably beyond the bare articles of the creed.


General characteristics

In the theology of the Roman Catholic, Sacraments is the outward sign of an inward grace. The number of sacraments varied throughout much of the first millennium of Christian history, as did the definition of the term sacrament itself. After extensive theological discussion during this period, church leaders in the 11th and 12th centuries decided upon seven as the exact number of sacraments. They are baptism, confirmation, the Eucharist, reconciliation (penance), anointing of the sick, marriage, and holy orders.


Cultic worship—a formal system of veneration—is so universal in religion that some historians of religion actually define religion as cult. Cultic worship is social, which means more than a group worshipping the same deity in the same place at the same time.  It is the tendency of cultic worship to replace spontaneity, which it once had, with set and even rigid forms of words and acts. T

Paraliturgical devotions

In the Roman Catholic Church, liturgy in the proper sense is the liturgy of the mass, the divine office, and the sacraments. For hundreds of years, however, the Latin language, the clerical character of the liturgy, and the search for novelty have combined to produce forms of worship that are “paraliturgical,” meaning that they lie outside the liturgy and in some cases contradict it.

The order of the mass

As a practice, Catholics are to attend mass on Sundays and any day of obligation. Typically, the Mass last for an hour, sometimes longer. The Mass has two parts:

  • Liturgy of the word
  • Liturgy of the Eucharist

but in reality five distinct phases are discernible:

  • the introductory rites,
  • the liturgy of the Word,
  • the liturgy of the Eucharist,
  • the communion rite, and
  • the concluding rite.

Catholics must stand, sit, kneel, bow, and make the sign of the cross at various points throughout the mass. Variations in the order of the mass (discussed below) are common depending on certain circumstances and the time of year