Tag: Catholic Rituals

What are the rituals of Catholicism?

What are the rituals of Catholicism?

Image result for images of the rituals of the catholic church
A child undergoing a Baptism – one of the Rituals of the Catholic Church

Glory to Jesus; Honour to Mary and Joseph

What is a Catholic Rituals?

Catholics Rituals are the sacraments of the Church. The Sacrament of the Church  starts with Baptism and ends with anointing of the Sick for the Sick or Holy order for ordained Ministers.

What is a Sacrament

A sacrament is an outward sign of an invisible spiritual reality. God uses the physical objects and the rituals to convey truth.

The Latin word sacramentum means “a sign of the sacred.” The seven sacraments are ceremonies that point to what is sacred, significant and important for Catholics. They are special occasions for experiencing God’s saving presence.

This outward sign functions as a channel through which God imparts sanctifying grace into the soul. The sacraments are seven in number and have their source in the saving work of Jesus in his passion, death, and resurrection, and were established by Him for the sanctification of every member of His Church.

The Sacraments are:

  1. Baptism- For Initiation into the Church
  2. Reconciliation- For Asking of God’s Forgiveness and Receiving it
  3. Eucharist –  Receiving the Body and Blood of Jesus Christ
  4. Confirmation- Makes you a member of the catholic church and then to defend the Church now
  5. Matrimony – Marriage as a sacraments
  6. Anointing of the Sick- Giving to the Sick for quick recovery or ease their deaths
  7. Holy Orders – giving to only Ordained Ministers

According the Catechism of the Catholic Church, the sacraments,

“touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith.

These Sacraments are part of the liturgical celebrations of the Church. In Christian tradition “liturgy” means the participation of the People of God in “the work of God.” Through the liturgical celebrations Christ, our redeemer and high priest, continues the work of our redemption in, with, and through his Church.

“The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us”