3 steps to becoming a Catholic
Candidate receiving the sacraments of confirmation

Glory to Jesus; Honour to Mary and Joseph

Who is a Catholic?

A anyone that practices the Catholic faith is a Catholic. These sacraments and other forms the basics of rituals of the church

What are sacraments of the church

There are seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church. They are essential for salvation and living the life that Christ intended us to live. Of these seven, only three important Sacraments that initiate an individual and welcome him or her into the family of Christ –

  • Baptism,
  • Communion, and
  • Confirmation.

“Baptism is the foundation of the Sacrament of initiation and frees one from original sin”.

“Confirmation is the second Sacrament of initiation.  this is a ritual that signifies strengthening of one’s faith”.

“Communion is the third and in this Catholics partake the Body and Blood of Christ to be a part of his sacrifice”.

These three Sacraments serve to

  • confirm,
  • strengthen, and
  • increase one’s faith and closeness with the community of Christ.


Derived from the Greek word, bapto or baptizo, baptism means to wash or immerse. The ritual of Baptism symbolizes the washing away of sins and cleansing the soul by immersing it in water. Baptism is an important Sacrament and being baptized is an important part of being initiated into the family of the Catholic Church. Water baptism is an act of obedience and represents forgiveness and unity with Christ and the Holy Trinity of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit

First Holy Communion

The First Holy Communion is the first reception of the Sacrament of the Eucharist. The age must be around 8 or 9. The garment worn is white. it symbolizes purity and newness.


Confirmation is the completion of the process of initiation into the family of Christ and is preceded by Baptism and the Holy Eucharist. It is one of the 7 Sacraments of Catholicism. Confirmation involves being responsible for one’s faith and actions and is a coming-of-age ceremony. Confirmation is performed by the Bishops. He lays his hands on the candidate. A new name that must be a saint is giving and registered into the diary of the church.


\These three Sacraments are all part of the initiation of an individual into Christ and the Church. Solemn and meaningful, the rites, rituals, and ceremonies of Baptism, First Communion, and Confirmation all serve to bring a person closer to Christ, help him or her to understand the responsibility of being a Christian, and lead a life of faith

Comments are closed.
%d bloggers like this: